The permissible blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in Alaska is 0.08% gram or 80 mg of alcohol per 100 ml of blood. However, you can also face charges if you operate a vehicle with a 0.04% BAC level.
The 0.08% limit can be equivalent to one to two standard alcoholic drinks depending on a person’s gender, age, size, and other factors.
Although driving under the influence of alcohol is not entirely banned in Alaska, you must follow the state’s allowable BAC level before getting behind the wheel. If you must travel after drinking, consider getting a cab or hiring a designated driver.
Before we go into the details of impaired driving in Alaska, keep in mind that the goal of this post is solely informational. This article should not be interpreted as promoting and encouraging driving while intoxicated in any state or region.
Impaired driving is defined as operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.
Alaska recorded 64 traffic-related fatalities in 2020. Twenty-two percent of these fatalities were caused by drunk driving, with drivers having a BAC of 0.08% or above.
It is essential to visit Alaska’s official website to stay up to date with the state’s impaired driving rules and regulations.
Legal Alcohol Limit When Driving in Alaska
Drivers having BACs of 0.08% or higher face penalties in Alaska. DUI punishments in Alaska vary depending on the case’s specific circumstances.
Various factors, including gender, body type, and amount drunk, influence the alcohol required to meet the legal BAC limit.
Alcohol can have a range of effects on people. Even if they only take a tiny amount of alcohol, some people can become disoriented and intoxicated.
You may utilize a BAC chart or BAC calculator to have an idea of how much quantity of alcohol you can drink. However, keep in mind that these instruments may or may not be appropriate for all people because everyone reacts differently to alcohol.
The most accurate way to determine your BAC is by using a reliable alcohol breathalyzer.
Punishments for Drinking and Driving in Alaska
While driving after consuming alcohol is not totally unlawful; you should check your BAC before driving.
You should confirm that you are within the current legal BAC limit before driving. Each state has its own set of impaired driving regulations.
If you are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol, you will face criminal penalties as well as administrative license suspension.
Here is an overview of the impaired driving penalties in Alaska to help you understand them and follow the law.
Suspension of Driver’s License and Revocation of Driving Privilege
A person caught driving or operating a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor may have their driver’s license, the privilege to drive, or the privilege to obtain a driver’s license revoked or disqualified by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Your driving privilege will be canceled or suspended if:
- You have a 0.08% breath alcohol test result or higher.
- Your breath alcohol test result is 0.04% or higher while operating a commercial vehicle.
- You refuse to take a breath, blood, or urine test to determine your alcohol level or the presence of restricted substances.
The DMV will cancel your driving privileges for the minimum time necessary by law.
The revocation periods are as follows:
|First offense or refusal||90 days|
|One prior DUI conviction or refusal||1 year|
|Two prior DUI convictions or refusal||3 years|
|Three or more prior DUI convictions or refusal||5 years|
For commercial vehicle operators, the Division of Motor Vehicles will suspend your driving privileges for the minimum term authorized by law. Depending on the gravity of the offense, the disqualification period can range from one year to life.
Aside from the previously mentioned penalties, you may also face the following punishment depending on the severity of your case.
- Jail time
- Installation of Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- Alcohol Treatment and Rehabilitation Referral
When Can You Drink and Drive in Alaska?
As previously stated, everyone’s absorption of alcohol differs. BAC levels differ between men and women.
Alcohol dehydrogenase (ADH) enzyme levels in men’s stomachs and livers are known to be high, which accounts for their rapid alcohol metabolism. These enzymes primarily aid in the uptake of alcohol. As a result, men absorb alcohol faster than women.
You can use the information below to calculate how much alcohol you can consume before driving in Alaska.
Please bear in mind, however, that while the information below is based on research, it may not apply to everyone because each person reacts differently to alcohol.
How Many Beers Can You Have and Drive in Alaska?
According to this BAC chart, a male weighing nearly 82 kg (180 lbs) can have a BAC level of 0.02% after ingesting one 12-ounce (350 ml) beer.
In contrast, a woman who consumes the same amount of beer and weighs the same can get a BAC of 0.03%.
According to the BAC chart, the lower a person’s weight, the higher his BAC after drinking alcohol.
Consuming one to two bottles of beer is usually enough to stay within Alaska’s legal BAC limit. If you are operating a commercial vehicle, drinking one bottle of beer should be enough.
How Much Wine Can You Drink and Drive in Alaska?
In the same case, two glasses of wine are sufficient to remain within Alaska’s permissible BAC level. A regular glass of wine (142 ml/5oz) can have up to 12% alcohol content.
Again, because commercial drivers can be penalized for having a BAC of 0.04% and above, one glass of wine is enough for them not to exceed the BAC limit.
How Much Whiskey or Vodka Can You Drink and Drive in Alaska?
One shot of liquor is equal to 44 mL. (1.5 oz).
Drinking one shot of whiskey or vodka can raise an 82 kg (180 lb) man’s blood alcohol concentration to 0.02%.
On the contrary, a woman of the same weight can have a BAC level of 0.03% after consuming the same amount.
One to two shots of spirits should suffice if you need to drive after drinking. One shot is better if you drive a commercial motor vehicle and stick to the legal BAC limits.
Sticking to Impaired Driving Laws in Alaska
Everyone should remember that drunk driving is risky for all drivers on the road.
If you are intoxicated, there are other ways to get around. You could take a cab or Uber or phone a buddy and ask them to drive you to your place.
If you cannot avoid driving after drinking, be sure your BAC level is below the state’s legal limit.
The best and safest option after drinking is to avoid driving. Even though you simply had a few drinks and are confident in your driving ability, you can never be certain of your BAC. Since everyone reacts differently to alcohol, only a breathalyzer can determine your BAC level properly.