As governed by legislation, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level in Kansas is 0.08% grams or 80 milligrams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood.
A person can reach the 0.08% BAC limit after drinking one to two standard alcoholic drinks. This quantity is only an estimated amount as a person’s BAC may vary depending on factors like gender, weight, etc.
Before we discuss impaired driving further, please be aware that this article was written to inform readers about Kansas’s drunk driving rules and regulations. This post does not intend to endorse or promote drunk driving.
It is unlawful to drive while impaired or under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Kansas.
According to statistics, 426 fatal drunk driver crashes occurred in Kansas in 2020. Drivers with blood alcohol levels above 0.08% were involved in 23% of these collisions.
To combat drunk driving, the government of Kansas enforces DUI driving rules. You must adhere to the state’s legal BAC level before driving. If you cannot avoid driving after drinking, consider hiring a designated driver, booking an Uber, or hailing a cab.
Visit the official website of Kansas to check the most recent DUI driving laws and regulations.
Legal Alcohol Limit When Driving in Kansas
In Kansas, you will be charged with DUI or driving a vehicle while intoxicated if your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or above.
The Kansas government has strict DUI regulations, such as the Zero Tolerance Law for drivers under the age of 21. These restrictions were implemented to help reduce alcohol and drug-related car accidents.
Even though the state enforces a legal BAC limit of 0.08%, it is necessary to remember that everyone reacts differently to alcohol. Even a few drinks of alcohol can cause disorientation in some people.
Many factors, including those listed below, influence your BAC:
- an empty stomach
- using a prescription medication
- levels of fatigue and stress
- alcohol consumption level
To determine the quantity of alcohol you can have before driving, use a BAC calculator or chart. However, because everyone’s reaction to alcohol is different, these methods may not be the best choice for everyone.
Still, a reliable and certified alcohol breathalyzer is the most reliable way to determine your BAC.
Punishments for Drinking and Driving in Kansas
There are different levels of impairment based on the BAC level and other factors. Most people appear normal when their BAC is between 0.010% and 0.029%. However, as BAC levels rise, signs of alcohol intoxication become more visible.
DUI laws vary from state to state. You must test your blood alcohol content before driving to avoid consequences. Drunk driving may result in administrative and judicial penalties.
Below is an overview of DUI punishments in Kansas.
First-time DUI offenders in Kansas may face the following punishment:
- Jail Time: at least 48 hours to six months of imprisonment
- Fines: From $750 to $1,000
- Community Service: 100 hours of community work before a consecutive 48-hour mandatory imprisonment or as a condition or grant of probation, reduction of sentence, or parole.
- License Suspension: 30 days of suspension
- Ignition Interlock: Six months to one-year usage of IID on vehicle
In addition, first-time offenders must enroll and complete an alcohol and drug awareness and treatment program.
After the suspension, these offenders must drive on a restricted license for 330 days. The judge will weigh the circumstances of the conviction when deciding what kind of restrictions to impose on the offender’s license.
The following penalties are applicable for second-time DUI offenders in Kansas:
- Jail Time: Imprisonment of 90 days to one year (mandatory consecutive five-day jail time before an offender can request for probation or reduction of sentence or parole)
- Fines: $1,250 to $1,750
- License Suspension: Up to one year of suspension
- Ignition Interlock: One-year usage of IID on vehicle
Second-time offenders must also enroll in and finish an alcohol and drug treatment program.
For third time offenders, they may face the following DUI punishment:
- Jail Time: 90 days to one-year imprisonment
- Fines: $1,750 to $2,500
- License Suspension: One-year suspension of driving privileges
- Ignition Interlock: Installation of IID on the offender’s vehicle for two years of usage
Third-time offenders are not qualified for probation, sentence suspension or reduction, or parole until they have served at least 90 days in prison. It is also required to complete an alcohol and drug treatment program.
Fourth and Subsequent Conviction
Fourth and subsequent DUI offenders may face the following penalties:
- Jail Time: Imprisonment from 90 days to one year
- Fines: $2,500
- License Suspension: One-year suspension
- Ignition Interlock: IID on the offender’s vehicle for three years
These offenders will not be eligible for probation, suspension or reduced sentence, or parole until they have served at least 90 days in prison.
After the completion of the sentence, the violator will be put in the custody of the Secretary of Corrections for a year of post-release monitoring.
During this period, the violator must participate in an in-patient or out-patient alcohol and drug abuse treatment program.
Drivers convicted of a fifth or subsequent offense will have their licenses permanently revoked.
When Can You Drink and Drive in Kansas?
As previously stated, everyone responds differently to alcohol. Gender is one factor that influences a person’s blood alcohol level. As a matter of fact, men and women have unique BACs.
ADH, or alcohol dehydrogenase, is found in higher concentration levels in men than women. Because they mainly help alcohol absorption, these enzymes are responsible for men’s rapid alcohol metabolism. As a result, men have a higher metabolism for alcohol than women.
If you’re unsure how much liquor you can lawfully drink before driving in Kansas, please refer to the information below as a guide.
The following information is based on research. However, not everyone will benefit because everyone’s body processes alcohol differently.
How Many Bottles of Beers Can You Drink and Drive in Kansas?
According to this BAC chart, a male weighing approximately 54 kg (120 lbs) could have a BAC of 0.03% after drinking a 12-ounce (350 ml) of beer.
In comparison, a female with the exact same weight can have a BAC of 0.04% after drinking the same amount of beer.
According to BAC charts, an individual with a lighter build may have a higher BAC.
Drinking one to two beer bottles is adequate to stay below the legal BAC level in Kansas.
How Many Glasses of Wine Can You Consume and Drive in Kansas?
A standard-size wine serving (5 oz/142 ml) may contain up to 12% alcohol by volume. It only requires two glasses of wine to reach Kansas’s legal BAC limit.
How Much Whiskey or Vodka Can You Drink and Drive in Kansas?
The ABV of a single shot of liquor, like vodka or whiskey, can reach 40%.
If you must drive, a shot or two of whiskey or vodka will suffice to stay within the allowable BAC limit in Kansas.
Sticking to DUI Laws in Kansas
Driving while intoxicated carries numerous risks. Every motorist should be aware of the dangers of DUI and avoid them.
It is best to avoid driving after drinking alcohol. Your BAC and driving ability are never assured, even if you only consumed a few beers. If you are tipsy, you should consider taking a different mode of transportation instead of driving.
It’s a good idea to regularly visit the official website of Kansas to keep you posted about the state’s DUI driving laws.