In Nebraska, the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit is 0.08% or 80 milliliters of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood. Yet, drivers may still face charges for impaired driving even with a lower blood alcohol content.
One to two standard alcoholic beverages are usually enough to achieve or exceed the BAC limit of 0.08%. However, this quantity should only be used as a guideline because an individual’s BAC can vary depending on weight and gender.
Please be aware that the purpose of this post is to raise awareness of Nebraska’s drunk driving laws. This website does not support or encourage intoxicated driving in any state or region.
Driving while impaired (DWI) or under the influence (DUI) is forbidden in Nebraska.
Statistics show that 213 vehicle accidents in Nebraska in 2020 were brought on by drunk driving. The at-fault drivers had blood alcohol levels exceeding 0.08% in 31% of these incidents.
Nebraska’s government enforces DUI legislation to reduce impaired driving in the state. So, before you get behind the wheel, you should test your blood alcohol level.
Check your BAC level with an alcohol breathalyzer to see if it is less than Nebraska’s legal limit.
If possible, use a designated driver service, such as Uber, a taxi, or a cab, rather than driving yourself.
Legal Alcohol Limit When Driving in Nebraska
Driving requires concentration, decision-making, and quick response in an emergency. These abilities are impaired by alcohol, putting you and other people in danger.
If your BAC were found to be 0.08% or higher, you would face charges of driving under the influence in Nebraska.
The government established BAC limits to lower the number of fatalities caused by drunk drivers. However, even though the state’s legal BAC limit is 0.08%, you should be aware that everyone’s body reacts differently to alcohol.
Some of the following factors may have an impact on your BAC level:
- Stress and fatigue level
- alcohol consumption level
- utilizing medications
Some individuals may pass out after drinking a few bottles of beer. You must check your BAC before driving to comply with Nebraska DUI laws.
Using a BAC calculator and chart, you can calculate your maximum alcohol intake before driving. However, because everyone’s reaction to alcohol is different, these methods may not be the best option for everyone.
A certified alcohol breathalyzer is still the most accurate way to calculate your BAC.
Punishments for Drinking and Driving in Nebraska
The degree of a person’s alcohol impairment is influenced by one’s BAC level and other factors.
A person with a blood alcohol level between 0.010% and 0.029% usually seems normal.
However, the effects of alcohol-related impairment become more apparent as BAC levels rise.
Driving under the influence may result in administrative and legal consequences. DUI laws differ from one state to the next. To avoid penalties, constantly monitor your blood alcohol level before driving.
First DUI Offense in Nebraska
A first-time DUI offender in Nebraska may face the following punishment:
- Jail Time: Seven days up to 60 days of imprisonment
- Fines: $500
- License Suspension: 6 months suspension of driver’s license
Second DUI Offense in Nebraska
A second DUI offense in Nebraska may result in the following penalties:
- Jail Time: 30 days to six months of imprisonment
- Fines: $500
- License Suspension: 18 months revocation of license
Third DUI Offense in Nebraska
A third DUI offense in Nebraska may result in the following punishment:
- Jail Time: Ninety days up to one year in jail
- Fines: $1,000
- License Suspension: 15 years of license suspension
All DUI offenders in Nebraska must apply for an ignition interlock device (IID). You must only operate a vehicle with an installed IID during your probation.
You must shoulder the payment for the Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) and the cost of installation and monitoring.
When Can You Drink and Drive in Nebraska?
Gender is one factor influencing a person’s blood alcohol level. Studies show that men and women have different BACs.
Men have significantly higher levels of alcohol dehydrogenase (ADH) than women. These enzymes are in charge of alcohol metabolism. As a result, men process alcohol faster than women.
If you’re unsure how much alcohol you can legally consume before driving in Nebraska, the information below may be helpful.
However, while studies back the information, it may not apply to everyone because each individual processes alcohol differently.
How Many Bottles of Beers Can You Drink and Drive in Nebraska?
BAC charts demonstrate that a lighter person may have a higher BAC.
A male weighing 180 pounds (82 kilograms) may have a blood alcohol content of 0.02% after consuming a 12-ounce (350 ml) beer.
In contrast, a female with the same weight and who drinks the same amount of beer may have a BAC of 0.03%.
The BAC level increases as the person’s weight decreases and the number of drinks increases.
We recommend limiting your beer intake to one to two bottles to keep your BAC within Nebraska’s legal limit.
How Many Glasses of Wine Can You Consume and Drive in Nebraska?
A standard wine glass holds 5 oz (142 ml) of up to 12% alcohol by volume.
A 180-pound man can have a BAC of 0.02% after drinking one glass of wine, similar to the previous example. On the other hand, a woman of the same weight and drinking the same amount of wine can have a BAC of up to 0.03%.
As a result, one to two glasses of wine are enough to meet Nebraska’s legal BAC limit.
How Much Whiskey or Vodka Can You Drink and Drive in Nebraska?
Distilled spirits, such as vodka and whiskey, contain 40% alcohol.
Based on the preceding example and the same method to determine blood alcohol content, one to two shots of whiskey or vodka should be sufficient to keep your BAC level within the permissible limits.
Sticking to DUI Laws in Nebraska
There are several myths about the effect of alcohol consumption on safe driving. All drivers should be aware of the dangers of DUI and take all reasonable precautions to avoid it.
It is not advisable to drive while under the influence of alcohol or any substance. When alcohol enters your system, you lose control of yourself and your vehicle.
Even if you’ve only had a little bit of alcohol, you shouldn’t assume your BAC level and driving abilities are reliable. If you are tipsy, you should consider taking a different mode of transportation instead of driving.
If you are going to drive after drinking, make sure your blood alcohol level stays below the legal limit. A reliable alcohol breathalyzer can precisely determine your blood alcohol level.
You may visit the state’s official website to learn about Nebraska’s DUI laws.